The start

I’m in over my head already. It’s here. I’m already a quarter way through my teaching certification.

I have a new understanding of what it means to be a teacher. It isn’t being a lecturer, no matter how fun or funny, entertaining or witty you are. It’s about making connections with every single student, not just one. It’s about creating a safe community so that each student is connecting with one another. It’s about an environment for learning – not just what I’m saying – it’s what the world is saying.

 

I know I have a long way to go. I know there’s much to learn, even after the teaching certification. Even long after tenure. Even after I retire. There’s so much to learn from new and experienced teachers, research, papers, books, methods, constantly shifting world and technology. There’s a way to look at the world, and it doesn’t have to be rigid. There has to be a sense of wonder in our students. I have to keep wondering too, and never get caught up in the ‘grind.’

 

I want the students to be lifelong learners – as I strive to be myself. This is only a beginning. It’s always a beginning.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

