Foodie role model

So I’m going to be a role model?

 

That’s true. I’ll be there. I’ll be a big impression either positive or negative. The students will look up to me, quite literally. So now I’m starting a food log (not really to be posted on my blog) just so I’m aware of the choices I make – that should some way reflect something about me. I’m not going to pretend that I eat healthy, whatever that is exactly, but I will say I eat good. Even when I grew up poor, we always ate well. My mother taught me a lot about cooking, and I have found a passion in it. My wife is coming along too, though baking seems to be her love.

 

So I eat bread. I eat butter. I eat rare red meat. I eat ice cream. I never skimp. I don’t eat light, diet, sodium/sugar/fat free. I also eat meals that contain whole grains, fresh vegetables, and a cooking process that’s from scratch, because, well food is more than just sustenance. It’s part of how I was raised and who I am. I will occasionally take corners when I’m tired, lazy or cheap. That’s when I feel bad. I never feel bad after a good home cooked meal paired with a glass of wine. Yesterday it was chicken spezzatino. Later this week I’ll make salmon en papillote. My wife and I want to make chocolate cake, croissants and other goodies.

 

I’m not stubborn (overly), because I know what I like. I know (generally) what is good and what isn’t, but I feel if I keep a balance that is most important. Scientific understanding of nutrition and health is at by no means at a consensus, though there are a lot of important studies worth investigating. It’ll be a process of learning, but I’m not ready to throw out my dry aged prime porterhouse.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

