Detective and Reporter

As much as I’ll try to create a safe environment in my classroom, when my students leave, it may be far less than that. I know that I’m going to need to learn much about my students to be a good teacher, but I’ll also need to know much about them to protect them or rectify a most troubling situation. As much as my emotions might get me caught up – I’ll need to be cool and collected, and build a trusting environment so the student at least can feel safe in the classroom.

 

I hope I never have to do this – be a detective, report on what’s happening to the appropriate authorities. What’s worse is missing the signs and not reporting. Maybe I can’t prevent terrible things, but I should at least be able to stop them from persisting.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

