TPA – Terror preview almost

So the TPA, teacher performance assessment is coming soon. I knew about it, but didn’t really think about it too much. When I was a teacher in Korea I had several lessons that were recorded, or the Principal and many other teachers would come in and review the class. I even had the district review my class that I was co-teaching with a Korean teacher (for her national accreditation). I’m not afraid of this. I’m even excited to come up with a lesson, but it’s, as it seems, do or die.

It’s very arbitrary at this point (the review process). We know what we’re assessed on (assessment, reflection, etc.) but we haven’t seen the criteria. We won’t get help (at most guiding) throughout the process. Yes, it’s a test, but not like any test I have ever taken. I agree it should be this way (or something like it) because how else can we truly assess teachers without seeing them teach and having them reflect on their own teaching. But it’s 50-70 (!) pages, it’s over the course of a week, and if you fail, you won’t know why and there’s not much you can do at that point. I’m nervous. I’m scared. I’ll be ready (I’ll check back in) in 7-8 months.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

