Food (and activity) journal reflection

I have been keeping a food journal, and as I have noted in an earlier post, I like eating good food. There’s a problem though; I don’t always eat food that is good for you (or even eat good food all the time). A lot of the times (when I’m low on time) I’ll grab something out of the freezer and eat that. What I pulled out of the freezer was often fried and/or something less than nutritionally delectable. What has improved was my activity. Once I noted (or didn’t note) the activities I was doing over the week I saw that I was far behind what I perceived to be a good physical habit, about an hour a day. I wasn’t always following that, but I got closer to it than I did without the journal. I hope I can set myself as a good role model. I try to engage in physical activities daily, my love for the outdoors, but my eating habits are still under par.

My main goal was to incorporate more vegetables and fruits into my diet. My thought was it would be a substitution for my other eating habits (mainly my love of bread and sweets). I did add a lot of vegetables and fruits into my diet. Our grocery cart for the week was always about third vegetables/fruits. I still ate sweets and lots of bread. I drank wine (moderately) which is a healthy decision (NOT for students, obviously). It also helped that my wife and I motivated each other in activities. I have been running two to three times a week (I’d like to push that to three to four, depending on my knees/shins) and also mix in pushups, squats, crunches, etc. Making time, at the same time every day would make reaching these goals a lot easier. What works best for me is if I do it as soon as I get home, around five thirty. When I’m tired, I’ll easily miss the deadline, but then it’s time to make dinner, clean and do homework. I’d want myself (and students) to set aside the same time every day, and if they don’t do an activity, then write what they did instead. If they did (or I do) an activity at a later time, note that, and try to make a better schedule.

Health and fitness is integral to be a good student. If the students are healthy and alert, they will learn better and feel better. They are starting good habits for life. And that should be noted, these activities and nutrition are not really goals, but how you should model your life. I think this won’t be overly difficult to incorporate into normal learning, as long as it’s integrated with the standard learning (reading, writing, and math). As time for science is already low, whatever topic I can teach I would like to incorporate. Human physiology is amazing and students can learn both about and how to maintain and improve their own lives. I think we have shown that even a thirty minute lesson (incorporate reading, writing and math) can do so much. I know that the lessons can also be continuously improved.

Leave a Reply

