parent teacher student

The students aren’t just students. Though I reflected that education should be thought of as life itself, there’s still life outside of education.

The biggest part of that life outside of education is parents. I finally had a chance to meet with parents for the (somewhat intimidating) parent-teacher conferences. Fortunately, my master (cooperating, etc.) teacher had a great idea to include the students at these meetings. Unfortunately, few students came, but the parents were there with a list of questions.

I have no doubt in my mind that the parents want what’s best for the kids – and they want a great education for them. They also want great grades. And grades are something that needs to be very clear, else it becomes a match of lawyers.

Students, parents, and teachers need to have close communication and constant clear communication for education to go beyond what’s happening in the classroom.

A constant thing I hear from parents is that their children are the exact opposite of how they are in class. I’m not sure why that is, but I have some theories. Maybe if more parents observed or helped in the classroom they can see how their kids and other kids interact. After all, it takes a village to raise a child.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “parent teacher student

  1. I sat in on a few of those conferences too. One thing I really appreciate about my CT is that she sends home weekly reports about how her students are doing. She provides comments about the student, includes some of their work from that week, and has a score card for parents to sign once they have read through it. She also leaves a space for the parents to write a comment or response back to her. She likes to have the parents be in the know, well before conference time arrives. The one downside I see to this is that it takes a lot of time for her to complete.

  2. I really like the idea of including students in conferences. I also experienced sitting in with parents, teacher, and student. I thought it was a very different dynamic. I am interested to see how that would work if there were serious concerns with a student who is struggling both academically and behaviorally. Would some of the conversation be postponed for when the student wasn’t there or would they talk through it with them? I also like in the comment above, the way this teacher keeps parents in the know. It is time consuming, but I imagine it is probably well worth it in the long run.

Leave a Reply

