hard work

It seems that the last few quarters were tough, mentally and physically. There were long hours, long drives, homework, schoolwork, work, work, but that was just the beginning. The work is only going to ramp up.

 

Looking at the base requirements for my teaching certification, I don’t need to do as much as I might have thought. I know the minimum isn’t going to cut it. I need to go above and beyond. It’s time to drink the coffee, espresso, soda, whatever to keep me going.

 

I need to start teaching more and establish myself in the classroom as a teacher, not a student teacher. It’s been a struggle with the inconsistencies of being back, but it doesn’t have to be that way. I need to be proactive and plan more.

 

I want to teach all day consecutively for a week. I haven’t done that since Korea, but the stakes are higher here, as there are more subjects to teach.

 

Since being back, I have done some observing and circulating around, but I need get out of the backseat. It’ll be a long climb up, but I have to do it.

 

Just this last week, I was doing a mini math lesson, and it was too much fun. As much work as it takes to be a teacher (and a new one at that), there is still so much joy. It’s so rare to find a job so creative, fulfilling, difficult, fresh and exciting.

 

It’s time to (insert metaphor here) and become a great teacher!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

